The culmination of almost five years’ work

It’s been almost five years in the making. I landed in the UK on 18 October 2012 to begin working on my PhD, and on 2 August 2017 (yesterday, as I write this) I passed my viva voce examination, the defense of my thesis.

My examiners (one from Northumbria and one from another UK university) were friendly and positive. They had lots of questions, some of which sought clarification on what I had done or what I meant by something I had written and others wanted my thoughts on related but tangential subjects. Evidently my thesis offered much food for thought. I’m very glad of this.

I ended up being given four modifications to make, mostly having the purpose of clarification. In each case they said that our conversation enabled them to understand, but they were concerned that it wouldn’t be clear to someone reading it without having the opportunity to ask me about it. Fair enough, I say.

Three months ago I wrote that there were five possible outcomes of the viva, but things have changed and now Northumbria defines only four. No longer do the examiners decide whether changes are major or minor; they just write them up and the Research Degrees Committee makes that call, also assigning a deadline for completing them. I’m certain mine will be defined as minor, especially because the examiners said they should take me only a couple of days to do.

One of the examiners said to me afterward that he’s read a lot of PhD theses where he kept wishing the writer would just get on with it, but he really enjoyed mine. I loved that.

From what I understand, I’m not supposed to use the title of Dr. until I’ve made the corrections and have received word that they’ve been approved. So don’t call me Dr. Buie quite yet! Soon, however, soon…


I plan to write a bit of reflection on my PhD process and how I got to where I am, but that will take more time than I have today.

About Elizabeth

PhD 2018, Northumbria Uni. Senior User Experience Consultant at Nexer Digital (nexerdigital.com). FRSA. UU. American. Renaissance choral singer, language lover, photographer, Italian speaker, solo traveler.

Posted on 3 August 2017, in PhD life, PhD viva and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Congratulations quasi-quasi Dottoressa :)
    I was always 100% certain you’d do it.

  2. Hip hip hooray! Congratulations! I’ve very much enjoyed following your doctoral journey, and am looking forward to your reflections. I would also like to read at least the executive summary of your thesis once it’s available for the general public. Bravo!

  3. Huzzah! Many congratulations, Elizabeth :)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.