About to present twice at Northumbria Uni

In the next two months I will be presenting at two conferences at Northumbria University. One is the “PGR Conference”, for postgraduate researchers (i.e., research PhD students) to talk about our research. In that one, first- and second-year PhD students who want in get in.

The other one is kind of a big deal: It’s the Northumbria Research Conference, and it’s open to both academic staff (what we call “faculty” in the US) and research students. This one was competitive, and today I received word that my submission had been accepted. As you can imagine, I’m feeling pretty dadgum good about that. :-)

In both cases I will be presenting the paper I gave last September at the Designing Pleasurable Products and Interfaces conference (here’s a link to my blog post about that). The paper, called “Meditations on YouTube“, is an analysis of viewer comments on YouTube videos for meditation. I had hesitated to submit the same thing to both Northumbria conferences, but I was assured that there will be very few people attending both (probably only the PhD students who are presenting at the larger one), so I did.

I like being in a field that has so few people working in it and so little existing research. I’m not competing for attention with a lot of other people working in the same area, and it’s wide open for research contributions. This doesn’t make me a shoo-in, of course — my work still has to be of good quality — but I suspect it helps a bit.

About Elizabeth

Northumbria Uni PhD student. User researcher and interaction designer. FRSA. Photographer. UU. American. Renaissance choral singer, language lover, Italian speaker, solo traveler.

Posted on 25 March 2014, in Conferences, PhD life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

