Preparing for teaching

I’m about to start teaching. Not paid teaching, not yet, but teaching nonetheless. Tomorrow morning I have a two-hour class on how to become accredited to teach in higher education*, and this morning my secondary supervisor asked me if I’d like to teach an undergraduate class in information architecture as part of a “module” (US friends, that’s what they call a course in the UK) that he’s teaching on concept modeling. I immediately said yes. I won’t be paid for doing this because I’m considered to be in training to teach, but it’s a start. I’ll need to find out how long the class will last and what I can assume the students already know. It should be fun.


*“Higher Ed[ucation]” is often hashtagged #highered, but when I read it I can’t help thinking it’s the past participle of “to higher” — i.e., the opposite of “lowered”. But I guess that people who go through “highered” can be said to have been highered. Haha.

About Elizabeth

Northumbria Uni PhD student. User researcher and interaction designer. FRSA. Photographer. UU. American. Renaissance choral singer, language lover, Italian speaker, solo traveler.

Posted on 2 October 2013, in Teaching and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

