The vagaries of utility bills

A couple of weeks ago I received an email from Scottish Power saying that, based on my usage, they were raising my monthly direct debit from £55 to £79.

WHAT?!?!?

I am fairly conservative in my use of energy, and this made no sense to me. So I emailed them to ask about it.

A few days later they replied. They said they had reviewed my account and had realized that I’ve been a customer only since November, so my usage so far has been biased by the period in which usage is always much higher. They said they would leave it at £55 for now and would reassess at my one-year anniversary.

THAT makes more sense. Thanks to Scottish Power for responding so quickly and reasonably.

(I probably should have phoned them instead, as I love listening to them talk. :-)

About Elizabeth

Northumbria Uni PhD student. User researcher and interaction designer. FRSA. Photographer. UU. American. Renaissance choral singer, language lover, Italian speaker, solo traveler.

Posted on 16 July 2013, in Housing, Living and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

