My decision, one year in

One year ago this week I chose Northumbria University for my PhD program. This week also brought me a reminder that the first-year Annual Review is coming up in a few months (four, for me) and in a few minutes I will meet with my supervisor to discuss what to write in my submission to the Doctoral Colloquium of the Designing Pleasureable Products and Interfaces conference, which will be held here in Newcastle in early September. This year has gone by fast in one sense and slowly in another.

Today I started a photo project: Approximately once a week for a year, I will take photos outside my flat at the same times of day. I’ve decided on 8am, 4pm, and 10pm. The midwinter nights here are three to four hours longer than what I was used to in Maryland, and I’m going to post them here to show my more southerly friends what it looks like. This will, of course, take me to my second year in.

About Elizabeth

Northumbria Uni PhD student. User researcher and interaction designer. FRSA. Photographer. UU. American. Renaissance choral singer, language lover, Italian speaker, solo traveler.

Posted on 21 June 2013, in Feelings, PhD life. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Brilliant! Look forward to seeing the photos :)

Leave a Reply

